• Welcome to MX Bikes Official Forum. Please login or sign up.

A continuation of the "physics issues" talk. (Long effort post.)

Started by TunaIRL, December 04, 2023, 05:40:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TunaIRL

Hi everyone!

Just like Some_Doofus last year, I've had thoughts about the key "physics" issues in the game. I am relatively new to the overall community but I'm passionate about the game being the best it can be. With me, this started with exploring the "slow physics" issues of the game after seeing many people ask and question why something was happening in the game. The forums of MXB and GPB seemed to be great places to read about things, since there were a lot of in-depth conversations about the physics of the game and real-life riding. I really recommend anyone interested to scour through some posts if you haven't done so. This post is maybe for people who haven't done or don't care to do that. A place for me to log my findings in the hopes someone else will find it interesting or useful. These issues are pretty complicated overall, which is why the post is long to go through each point as clearly as I can.

Doofus mentioned a few things in his post like the leg simulation. I completely agree with his assessment of them. They cause weird things to happen every now and then when the rider tries to keep the bike up at a standstill and you just end up sliding sideways. This is something I will not touch on further, because the issue seems quite straight forward. Either you have them, and weird things happen, tune them so it happens less, or remove them so you fall over more.

What I wanted to touch on and go in-depth is the virtual rider. I made a half an hour video version of this post which you can go watch, I will probably refer to it at times. (It's a bit repetitive, sorry, I am an inexperienced commentator, but I wanted to make sure the points are clear.) Here's the video: