• Welcome to MX Bikes Official Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 26, 2024, 03:02:39 AM

News:

MX Bikes beta18j available! :)

Whip concept for PiBoSo

Started by Paulo Rodrigues | Motocross Plays, October 03, 2014, 07:10:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paulo Rodrigues | Motocross Plays

October 03, 2014, 07:10:17 PM Last Edit: October 03, 2014, 07:12:39 PM by Paulo Rodrigues
Hello PiB, A person can do the whip and bring back because of the friction of the wind on the bike, I know it's impossible to simulate a perfect air friction in a game because I'm also a developer, but I've algorithms that simulates this "natural force".

I leave here a pseudo code to get you thinking:
if (!bike.isGrounded){
    if(bike.transform.angles.x > 0){
        "add a smooth angular force for the bike return to 0x";
        var coeficient = ReturnDampingForce * Axis Input;
        theAngularForceX = coeficient;
    else if(bike.transform.angles.x < 0){
        "add a smooth angular force for the bike return to 0x to";
        var coeficient = ReturnDampingForce * Axis Input;
        theAngularForceX = coeficient;
    }
}

This is super super simple and this code is just for X angle, you can do the same thing for the Z and Y axis.
Well this will be like a "Rider Reflex Whip" but a valid code...

Have other option to, like the gyroscopic wobble theory (Mx Simulator Myths), but i'm not good physic thinker...

I'm creating a dirt bike simulator for Android, nothing special, simple physics and also trouble'm going to think of some method of performing whips.
And also I'm having trouble setting a caster angle of the handlebars to the bike always stay standing, if you can give me a hint how can I create this "angle" I would be very grateful as well.
Specs:
- AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
- GeForce RTX 2070 Super 8GB
- 16GB DDR4 TeamGroup El
http://www.youtube.com/motocrossplays

PiBoSo

Quote from: Paulo Rodrigues on October 03, 2014, 07:10:17 PM